Commercial Vehicle Registration Customer Requirements

- Anyone who owns or operates a commercial vehicle must provide the USDOT number of the carrier **responsible for safety** at the time of vehicle registration. To File for a USDOT number with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA),
 - a. Log on to the FMCSA website: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
 - b. Under "Help me Register" click on the step by step registration guide.
 - c. Follow the instructions to register for your USDOT number. You will be creating an MCS 150 form during this process.
 - d. If you do not have computer access or need help call DOT: (907) 365-1206
- 2. Once a USDOT number is obtained, carriers also need to provide DMV with information related to the Heavy Usage Vehicle Tax.
- 3. All companies who already have a USDOT number must ensure that their MCS-150 form has been updated within a year. If update has occurred within the last 48 hours, you will need to wait 48 hours to renew.
- 4. Companies must ensure that the TIN provided for registration of the vehicle must match the TIN for the USDOT number.
- 5. Participation in the PRISM program is not optional. By virtue of obtaining a USDOT number, commercial vehicle carriers are entered into the PRISM program. At that time, the carriers' operations are monitored for safety. If they are identified as an unsafe carrier as described below, registration will be denied.

What is PRISM?

PRISM is a nationwide federal, state and private partnership designed to promote the safe operation of large commercial vehicles. The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, Measurement Standards and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement (MS/CVE) monitor this program and all participants. By joining the PRISM program, Alaska demonstrates its ongoing commitment to ensure that only those motor carriers who have demonstrated and maintain a safe operating record will be allowed to register and operate vehicles in our state. This very simply means safer motor carriers and safer roads for Alaska.

To contest the denial of an Alaska vehicle registration, you may apply for an administrative hearing. The hearing is limited solely to the issues of whether or not Alaska DMV complied with AS 28.10.041 when denying your vehicle registration.

Sec. 28.10.041. Grounds for refusing registration.

- (a) The department may refuse to register a vehicle if
- (1) the application contains a false or fraudulent statement;
- (2) the applicant fails to furnish information required by the department;

(3) the applicant is not entitled to the issuance of a certificate of title or registration under this chapter;

(4) the vehicle is determined to be mechanically unsafe to be driven or moved on a highway, vehicular way or area, or other public property in the state;

(5) the department has reasonable grounds to believe that the vehicle was stolen or fraudulently acquired or that the granting of registration would be a fraud against the rightful owner or other person having a valid lien upon the vehicle;

(6) the registration of the vehicle has been suspended or revoked for any reason under the laws of the state;

(7) the required fees or taxes have not been paid;

(8) the vehicle or applicant fails to comply with this chapter or regulations implementing this section;

(9) the vehicle is without a certificate of inspection required under AS 19.10.310;

(10) except for a vehicle to be registered under <u>AS 28.10.152</u>, the vehicle is subject to a state-approved emission inspection program adopted under <u>AS 46.14.400</u> or 46.14.510, and the vehicle does not meet the standards of that program;

(11) the applicant fails to certify to the department the existence of a motor vehicle liability policy that complies with <u>AS 28.22.101</u> for the vehicle being registered unless the owner of the vehicle qualifies as a self-insurer under <u>AS 28.20.400</u> or is exempted from obtaining liability insurance under <u>AS 28.22.011</u>.

(b) When the department refuses to register a vehicle, it shall immediately notify the applicant stating the reasons for the action and informing the applicant of the right to a hearing under <u>AS 28.05.131</u> - 28.05.141.

(c) Except for a vehicle to be registered under <u>AS 28.10.152</u>, the department shall refuse to register a vehicle subject to the federal heavy vehicle use tax required by 26 U.S.C. 4481 (Internal Revenue Code of 1954) if the applicant fails to furnish proof, in the form prescribed by the United States Secretary of the Treasury, that the tax has been paid.

(d) The department shall refuse to register a vehicle if the applicant fails to register the vehicle using the applicant's full first, middle, and last name or a business name.

A request for an Alaska administrative hearing must be made in writing within 30 days of the denial of your vehicle registration. The request must be mailed, faxed, or hand-delivered to:

State of Alaska, Department of Administration Division of Motor Vehicles **3901 Old Seward Highway,** Suite 101 Anchorage, Alaska 99503

Fax number (907) 269-3774.